The Utah real estate licensing path can be daunting.  Here are the answers to the most common questions about how to get a Utah real estate license.

Utah Real Estate Licensing

Fully understanding the Utah real estate licensing process can be intimidating. But, if you're anything like me, you are doing plenty of research before deciding if becoming an agent is the right career path. As a homeowner and full-time discount real estate agent, I'm answering the questions I had when I decided to become a Utah real estate agent.

You will learn who qualifies to become a licensed agent, how much your real estate license costs, how long it takes to become an agent, and how to select the right brokerage.

After reading this article, you will be prepared to start your journey as a real estate agent and, someday, a licensed Utah real estate broker.

 blog topic divider

Utah Real Estate License Requirements

blog topic divider

To be eligible, you must be 18 or older and possess a high school diploma or equivalent. Furthermore, you should not have been convicted of a felony within the past five years or a misdemeanor that involved dishonesty, theft, misrepresentation, or fraud in the last three years, starting from conviction or release from jail or prison.

blog topic divider

How Long Does It Take To Get A Utah Real Estate License?

blog topic divider

Students who take the maximum allowable eight credit hours daily can complete the real estate licensing course in just over two weeks.

**120 course hours / 8 hours per day = 15 days. **

A credit hour isn't an hour of coursework. It's less.

You only need to spend fifty minutes on course material to receive the full credit for an hour of class time. That doesn't sound like much, but if you complete every credit in fifty minutes, you can complete the pre-licensing course in one hundred hours instead of the 120 hours provided.

Most students, serious about passing their Utah real estate exam on the first attempt, allocate more than a hundred hours to complete the mandatory coursework.


blog topic divider

How Much Does It Cost To Become A Real Estate Agent In Utah

blog topic divider

The estimated cost of obtaining a Utah real estate license is about $2,200. The actual expenses associated with becoming a real estate agent in Utah will vary depending on the cost of the school and how many times the student takes and pays for the exam.

Realtor Start-Up Cost

  • Real Estate School $600
  • Application Fee $100
  • Finger Printing $40
  • Recovery Fund Fee $12
  • Rap Back Fee $5
  • Exam Fee $59
  • Multiple Listing Service (MLS) $480 per year
  • Annual Board Dues $895
  • Total Cost $2,191

Other Agent Expenses

  •  Listing Key Box - $140 
  • For Sale Sign - $60
  • Business Cards - $50
  • Property Listing Photos - $100

blog topic divider

Selecting A Utah Real Estate Licensing School

blog topic divider

As a new agent in 2006, I attended Stringham School for my real estate pre-licensing course. There were not a lot (if any) online real estate schools at the time.

I also took my brokerage licensing course from Stringham back in 2010 online, which was a terrible experience. I'm sure a lot has changed since then, but I don't recommend their online course.

Stringham Real Estate School is an excellent option if you learn better in a classroom setting.

However, if you are comfortable taking online courses and have the discipline to sit in front of your computer for 120 hours, then I highly recommend The CE Shop.

Online Real Estate School Utah

I took my California sales agent course through The CE Shop and passed the exam on my first try. Unfortunately, you can not get your license online. The test must be taken in person, which meant a costly flight and hotel room in Los Angeles.

 blog topic divider

Utah Real Estate School List

blog topic divider

blog topic divider

Utah Real Estate Licensing Course

blog topic divider

Below is a breakdown of the real estate subjects that will be taught in the 120-hour mandatory real estate education program.

  • Ownership of Real Estate 12 hours 
  • Real Estate Brokerage and the Law of Agency 12 hours 
  • Contracts 16 hours 
  • Property Management 4 hours 
  • Settlement 8 hours 
  • Federal Taxation 2 hours 
  • Real Estate Finance 16 hours 
  • Valuation and Appraisal 6 hours 
  • New Construction 2 hours 
  • Math Skills 4 hours 
  • Federal Laws 6 hours 
  • Utah Law 24 hours 
  • Testing and Review 8 hours 

 Total 120 hours 

blog topic divider

Pass The Utah Real Estate License Exam.

blog topic divider

Pearson VUE conducts the Utah real estate sales agent licensing exam and consists of two sections that encompass national and state-specific regulations.

What Is A Passing Grade For Utah Real Estate License Exam?

A final exam is administered upon completion of the course material, and a minimum score of 70% is required to pass.


**The bar is set low, considering a passing score of 70 is the equivalent of a C- in high school. **


If you fail, you can retake the exam as often as needed to pass.  Don't feel bad if you don't pass both exams on your first attempt. Most real estate agents in Utah failed the exam on their first try.  

 Pass Fail Utah Real Estate Exam

Individuals who fail the exam will receive a score report with diagnostic information to help them focus their study efforts for the next attempt.

If a test-taker passes one section of the exam but fails the other, they are only required to retake the portion they did not pass.

How Long Is The Real Estate Exam?

The state licensing exam consists of 130 multiple-choice questions to be answered within 4 hours or less.

What Do You Need The Day Of The Exam?

Individuals taking the test must provide two forms of valid identification, including a signature. The identification must include at least one primary form (such as a government-issued document) with a photo and signature.

The name on both forms of identification must match the registration name exactly.


blog topic divider

How To Schedule Utah Real Estate License Exam Online

blog topic divider

The Utah cities where Pearson VUE testing facilities are available. 

  • Bountiful
  • Cedar City
  • Draper
  • Logan
  • Moab
  • Ogden
  • Orem
  • Richfield
  • Roosevelt
  • St. George

Utah Real Estate Agent Practice Exam

For $20, you can access Pearson VUE's practice tests covering general real estate topics, including questions developed from concepts found in the general portion of the actual exam. The practice tests cover various areas, such as terms and concepts, and align with the current general test outline. 

After Completing the Pre-Licensing Sales Agent Course
Completion of 120 hours of approved Pre-Licensing sales agent education is a requirement. You only have a year to apply for your real estate license, so don't procrastinate. The clock starts ticking the day you complete your real estate course. 

If you do not take the real estate exam within the one-year timeframe, you will need to start the entire process over again. Don't wait. Make it your goal to take the exam within a month of completing your coursework.

blog topic divider

After Passing The Sales Agent Test

blog topic divider

After passing the Utah sales agent exam, you must submit an online license application within 90 days.

Follow the Utah Division of Real Estate checklist to ensure you submit a complete application to avoid licensing delays.

The real estate agent application fees are $157 and are nonrefundable.

blog topic divider

Sales Agent Application

blog topic divider

The Sales Agent Application must be an original document completed, signed, dated, and issued by the Pearson VUE testing center.

Qualifying Questionnaire

You must provide signed answers to the Qualifying Questionnaire (issued at the testing center), and for any "YES" answers, you must provide supporting documentation.

Consent To Background Check

The Pearson testing center should have provided you with a four-page document called "Consent To Background Check." Please submit the original copy of this document, which has been signed and dated, to the state in PDF format.


Fingerprinting is now mandatory, and Pearson VUE is offering fingerprinting services for individuals with pre-booked appointments.

Outside private fingerprinting service vendors require two fingerprint cards (Blue FD-258), a receipt of electronic fingerprint submission, and a signed Fingerprint Waiver (issued at the testing center).

All new real estate agent license applications must undergo a fingerprint background check and be enrolled in Rap Back.

  • What is Blue FD-258?
    The Blue FD-258 card is a fingerprint card that meets the FBI's standards for recording fingerprints.
  • What is Rap Back?
    Rap Back notifies agencies of individuals in a position of trust or under criminal supervision. Rap Back aims to eliminate repeated background checks from the same applicant.

Certification of Legal Presence

Legal Presence is a document that verifies that an individual is authorized to live and work in the United States.

Documents such as birth certificates, passports, or immigration documents meet the certification requirements.

Candidate Education Certifying Document

Signed original school certificates are given to students after completing their 120 hours of coursework and must be submitted with the sales agent application.

The Utah Division of Real Estate requires candidates to submit this document as part of the licensing application process to ensure that the individual has met the educational requirements for obtaining a real estate license in Utah.


blog topic divider

Selecting A Brokerage

blog topic divider

You cannot be an independent real estate salesperson once you have fulfilled all the requirements to obtain your real estate license in Utah. You must work under the supervision and guidance of a broker who will assist you in managing your clients' transactions.

There are several factors to consider when interviewing with potential brokerages.

1. Interviewing Brokerages: As a new agent, the brokerage should offer training and support when needed. You will have many questions, so ensure the broker is in the office regularly or accessible by phone.

2. Commission SplitsA brokerage commission split refers to the percentage of the commission earned by a real estate agent or broker that is paid to the brokerage firm they work for.

When a real estate transaction is completed, the percentage of the commission (typically 3%) that goes to the listing brokerage is then divided between the brokerage and the agent, according to the terms of their agreement.

Commission splits vary greatly. Some brokerages charge 30%-40% per transaction, while others charge as little as $500.

Some brokerages have an annual commission cap.

Suppose you're a high-producing agent closing 50 transactions per year and pay your brokerage a 30% commission split per transaction until you hit the annual cap. In that case, the 70/30 brokerage commission split may be more profitable than the $500 per transaction.

Scenario One $500,000 X 3% = $15,000 commission. $15,000 X 30% split = $4,500. That means your first four real estate transactions would pay your brokerage commission split for the entire year. $4,500 X 4 = $18,000 commission cap.

Scenario Two Let's assume another high-producing agent selling 50 homes annually and paying $500 per transaction with no annual cap.

50 x $500 = $25,000 in brokerage commission annually.

The agent paying only $500 per transaction paid $7,000 more in commission splits.

3. Transaction Coordinators: Make sure the brokerage you're considering has a transaction coordinator. A transaction coordinator (TC) must have an active Utah real estate license. The job of the TC is to assist real estate agents and brokers with the administrative tasks and paperwork associated with a real estate transaction.

TCs help ensure the transaction progresses smoothly and efficiently from contract to closing and typically charge $300-$500 per transaction.

4. Agent Training: The first step is passing the real estate exam. Even though you may have a basic understanding of real estate law, evaluating a property, listing homes for sale, and preparing contracts, additional training is essential for a successful real estate career.

Remember, you're negotiating real estate transactions with agents that have been real estate professionals for decades. You'll need lots of training and support to prevent costly client and brokerage errors.


blog topic divider

Post-Licensing Requirements

blog topic divider

Take the New Agent course.

New Utah, real estate agents, must complete the 12-hour New Agent Course to renew their license. This course qualifies as 12 Continuing Education (CE) credits.

blog topic divider

What Is Continuing Education (CE)?

blog topic divider

The purpose of Utah Real Estate Continuing Education (CE) is to ensure that real estate professionals in the state remain up-to-date with the latest laws, regulations, and best practices in the industry.

**18 Hours Of CE Courses Every Two Years.**

It aims to enhance real estate licensees' knowledge, skills, and professionalism and help them provide high-quality services to their clients.

By requiring continuing education, Utah ensures that real estate professionals are equipped with the necessary knowledge and skills to adapt to changes in the market and maintain the highest standards of ethical and professional conduct.

blog topic divider

Continuing Education Requirements In Utah State

blog topic divider

CE Course Timeline:  Every two years. Total CE Hours: 18 hours.

blog topic divider

When Can An Agent Become A Broker?

blog topic divider

In Utah, a licensed real estate agent can become a broker by meeting specific requirements set by the Utah Division of Real Estate.

  1. Experience: The agent must have at least three years of experience as a licensed real estate agent and accumulate sixty points. Each real estate transaction is assigned points.

    Commercial, property management, and residential transactions all earn different points.

    For this article, I'll use residential sales only. Each single-family home sale is worth 2.5 points, so you must close 24 real estate transactions before applying for your broker's license. 

  2. Education: The agent must complete 120 hours of real estate courses, including the 90-hour broker pre-licensing course. We recommend The CE Shop for your Broker approved education provider.

  3. Licensing Exam: The agent must pass the Utah Broker Exam.

  4. Application: The agent must submit a broker license application to the Utah Division of Real Estate and pay the required fees.

  5. Background check: The agent must undergo a criminal background check.

blog topic divider

Utah Real Estate Reciprocity

blog topic divider

What Is Reciprocity?

Real estate license reciprocity refers to recognizing a real estate license obtained in one state by another state and eliminating or minimizing the requirements needed to sell real estate in a reciprocal state.

Real Estate Agents Moving To Utah
A real estate agent with an active license in Georgia, Mississippi, and Alberta qualifies for reciprocity in Utah.

Utah has entered into reciprocity agreements for real estate licenses with Georgia, Mississippi, and Alberta, Canada. If you hold an active and current license in any of these states, you can apply for reciprocity and qualify for an education waiver.


blog topic divider

Do Lawyers Need To Take The Utah Real Estate Licensing Course?

blog topic divider

No, an attorney in Utah does not need to take the agent pre-licensing course to obtain a real estate license.

Attorneys are exempt from the pre-licensing education requirement in Utah, as they have already completed a substantial amount of legal education and training. However, they must still take and pass the Utah real estate exam.


blog topic divider

This post was about Utah real estate licensing to help you decide if becoming a real estate agent is a good fit for you.

blog topic divider  

Posted by Discount Agent on
Email Send a link to post via Email

Leave A Comment

Please note that your email address is kept private upon posting.